The Kennesaw Mountain 150th: A Few Thoughts and Photos

As you may have noticed, I have been quite busy as of late. Not as much time for posting on here as I may have liked. I just returned from Georgia this past Monday. I was in Kennesaw, Georgia, for a total of six days. The first two days of my visit were simply meant for me to be able to spend time with my Uncle Jeff and Aunt Paula, as well as my cousin Annie and her husband Jonathan. By Thursday June 26th, however, it was time to get to work…

 

That day, I had two scheduled book talks. One in Athens, at the Athens-Clarke County Public Library at 1 pm, and the other at the Atlanta History Center at 8 pm. Aside from some issues with Atlanta rush hour traffic, the day went very smoothly. The crowd at the Atlanta History Center was incredible, and the line for signing books seemed to stretch forever. I got to meet Gordon Jones, the chief military historian and curator at the Atlanta History Center, and if ever there was a guy whose generosity and kindness matched his reputation as an outstanding historian, it would be Gordon. Meeting him was one of the highlights of my trip.

Me at the Atlanta History Center just before my evening lecture.

Me at the Atlanta History Center just before my evening lecture.

The Atlanta History Center had set up large signs directing visitors to the auditorium for my talk.

The Atlanta History Center had set up large signs directing visitors to the auditorium for my talk.

 

On Friday, I was the first author to speak at the Kennesaw Mountain Visitor Center, where I spoke on Dan McCook and Charles Harker at Kennesaw Mountain, describing how two young officers had faced fearful odds and made tremendous sacrifices for their nation 150 years before on that very day. After the lecture, I made my way out to Cheatham Hill, where I began leading ranger programs for the park. Being in uniform and talking with visitors at the famed Dead Angle 150 years after the battle was a tremendous honor.

 

Me in uniform in front of the Illinois Monument

Me in uniform in front of the Illinois Monument

My morning lecture at the Kennesaw Mountain Visitor Center on June 27th

My morning lecture at the Kennesaw Mountain Visitor Center on June 27th

My morning lecture at the Kennesaw Mountain Visitor Center on the morning of June 27th

My morning lecture at the Kennesaw Mountain Visitor Center on the morning of June 27th

 

On Saturday the 28th, I was again leading ranger programs at Cheatham Hill, before heading off to Marietta for another book talk and book signing, this time at the Marietta Museum of History. Another great crowd came out, and it was a successful fourth book lecture in a three day period of time.

 

On Sunday the 29th, I was at the battlefield all day, leading ranger programs at Cheatham Hill. Here are just a few of the photos, courtesy of the awesome NPS social media team and the Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park facebook page…

 

All in all, it was a great week in Georgia. I could never have expected it would go as well as it did. I will post more in the days to come. Just wanted to put a few pictures on the page this afternoon.

To all who I met in Georgia, thanks for your hospitality and your kindness. I will never forget this week and what a privilege it was to work alongside the outstanding staff at Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park and how awesome it was to meet so many who enjoyed the book.

 

 

Leave a Reply

